Newbie Scan Questions

Write here about construction, ideas, equipment, tips n tricks etc. related to structured light scanning
Tru3DScans

Newbie Scan Questions

Post by Tru3DScans »

I am a total newbie to SLS scanning and recently aquired the HP 3D SLS dual-camera scanner, turntable & arm. I set everything up connected to a laptop with Quadro 3800M display card. At the moment, I have set it up as a single camera setup. All seems to be working fine.

I am doing my first scans with the scanner and learning a lot. But I also currently have a hot project where I need to get some clean 3D scans of a mechanical object. After reading and learning, it appears that this object surface is very hard to get a good scan. The surface is smooth and the outside is gloss black. The inside is bare brushed metal.

I have powdered the surface of the object but because of the underlying gloss black surface, there are still some shiny areas when scanning. This seems to result in holes in an individual scan. (I am guessing that if I were to paint the object with a flat gray primer color, I would get much better scans. But at this point, I can't paint the object).

The alignment of the scans seems pretty good to me overall, but if I zoom into certain areas, I can see that it's not perfect. Here are the scans:
front_casing_scan_02_screengrab_01.jpg
Here is the fused mesh:
front_casing_scan_02_mesh_screengrab_01.jpg
The object's outer surface is very smooth, but the fused mesh has noise on the surface that looks like it's made of cast iron. The area with the heavy rough surface is the region where the scans are slightly above one another.

Does anyone have any tips on what to try to get a smoother surface for this object or does the gloss black color make this the best I can get?

Thanks for any tips!!

Mike
Mike

HP 3D Scan Pro, Dual-Camera, turntable, arm, pitch-black room
3dxcan

Re: Newbie Scan Questions

Post by 3dxcan »