Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Write here about construction, ideas, equipment, tips n tricks etc. related to structured light scanning
Post Reply
Oesh01
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Sep 2020, 16:19

Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Post by Oesh01 »

Hey guys!

I am hoping for some guidance with my equipment. I have been using Kscan with a simple Xbox sensor setup... bulky! So recently I purchase a 3D Systems Sense 2 scanner in hopes of updating my setup. I like the form factor of the Sense 2 but don't really care for its software... no control. Is there anyway I can get Kscan to see my Sense 2 scanner?

Help please!
User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 240
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Post by OBNRacerMan »

Hey.
If I'm not mistaken, the KScan does not support SR300 sensors (which are used in Sense 2).
The earlier Sense (1) had SR200 (or F200) sensors - so it might still support them (ReconstructMe also supports Sense 1, but not Sense 2).
So if you want some third-party software for working with devices using relatively modern Intel RealSense sensors - SR300/305, D415/435/435i, L505 (lidar) - then use RecFusion - a lot of things are supported there.

P.S. I have a Kinect for xBox 360 (Kinect 1), Intel Realsense SR305 and D415.
Soft: RangeVision DIY, Calibration panel/Rotary tables - RangeVision, Prj: Byintek UFO R9, Cam: Daheng Mercury MER-630-60U3M-L (USB3.0, monochrome) x2, Obj: ZLKC HM1628MP10 (F2.8, 10Mp, 16mm) x2 & Azure 3518M3M (F1.8, 3Mp, 35mm).
Oesh01
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Sep 2020, 16:19

Re: Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Post by Oesh01 »

I am really hoping that there is a driver that I could install and/or some "tweak" I can do.
I really like the control of the Kscan3D gives.

I have briefly looked into the RecFusion and it looks very similar to what the Sense 2 software offers. More of a scan and go software with very little editing.
User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 240
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Post by OBNRacerMan »

Unfortunately, Kscan3D has not been supported for a long time by the developers, because they have completely switched to a different type of scanning in Flexscan 3D. ReconstructMe (and some other programs) are also not updated for a long time.
Soft: RangeVision DIY, Calibration panel/Rotary tables - RangeVision, Prj: Byintek UFO R9, Cam: Daheng Mercury MER-630-60U3M-L (USB3.0, monochrome) x2, Obj: ZLKC HM1628MP10 (F2.8, 10Mp, 16mm) x2 & Azure 3518M3M (F1.8, 3Mp, 35mm).
contactpolyga
Posts: 13
Joined: 26 Nov 2020, 23:26

Re: Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Post by contactpolyga »

Hello,

we're the developers of KScan3D / FlexScan3D.

We are still actively developing FlexScan3d but KSCan3D has long been discontinued. The last publicly available version of KScan3D can be found here if anyone is looking. http://www.polyga.com/download/kscan3d_ ... .2.0.2.exe

We evaluating options around a software package for processing scan data for current generation depth sensors, like the current generation RealSense 4xx sensors etc.. so we should have some announcements sometime mid next year. Sorry that's not very soon for your project. :?
User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 240
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Sense 2 with Kscan3D/FlexScan3D

Post by OBNRacerMan »

Interesting information. But, as I understand it, if all this is done, it will only be based on the enthusiasm of the developers.
Soft: RangeVision DIY, Calibration panel/Rotary tables - RangeVision, Prj: Byintek UFO R9, Cam: Daheng Mercury MER-630-60U3M-L (USB3.0, monochrome) x2, Obj: ZLKC HM1628MP10 (F2.8, 10Mp, 16mm) x2 & Azure 3518M3M (F1.8, 3Mp, 35mm).
Post Reply