How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Write here about construction, ideas, equipment, tips n tricks etc. related to structured light scanning
aimedsolutions
Posts: 10
Joined: 06 Feb 2017, 02:22

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by aimedsolutions » 17 Feb 2017, 17:38

Its live in david live view right now. I will try to calibrate in morning then update.

Oteck
Posts: 77
Joined: 11 Nov 2016, 21:21

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by Oteck » 23 Feb 2017, 03:14

I given up using the slr route with the canon, you dont have complete control of the camera like the aperture. This problem made it worst since all my lenses are 2.8 and lower so the DOF was hair thin.

Curiousjeff
Posts: 123
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 22:31

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by Curiousjeff » 23 Feb 2017, 15:59

2.8 are very good lenses. Should be very sharp.

I don't understand what is preventing you from stopping down your lens.

I did not have that problem when I was using the Canon.

On the other hand:

The Canon live view resolution is not very high.
By default, you don't have fine shutter control (you need to use Magiclantern)
You don't have a clean HDMI output to use with a HDMI capture device
Don't have full hd resolution on the HDMI output when using live output and it's interlaced

IMHO
If you have a Canon, it's great place to start, but I would not buy one just to use with David.

Jeff

aimedsolutions
Posts: 10
Joined: 06 Feb 2017, 02:22

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by aimedsolutions » 25 Feb 2017, 02:38

Hi Jeff
Then what you reccomend to buy as its hard to find good usb camera here in my country as well as my pocket allows. Would 4K cameras work like Sony hdr as50r? I just need to scan industrial parts and all I need is good clean scan.

Curiousjeff
Posts: 123
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 22:31

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by Curiousjeff » 26 Feb 2017, 20:27

I do NOT recommend using a 4k DSLR with David. You can see my post on the old forum here:

http://forum.david-3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=6550

1) If you want to use a DSLR in full-hd or higher, you will need an HDMI acquisition device. They can be expensive. You also need a clean HDMI output signal from the camera. Not all have that. Etc....

2) 4K with the Panasonic has to much jittering (shaken of the sine waves). I only use it in Full-hd

I am happy with the combination GH4 and Inogeni capture device, but this is much more expensive then a Imaging Source camera.

I was unhappy with Blackmagic card because of the terrible tech support and 4k never working.

IMHO, once you are satisfied with David, you should get an Imaging Source industrial camera (new or eBay).

Jeff

User avatar
avogra
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: 11 Nov 2016, 17:27
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by avogra » 26 Feb 2017, 20:42

I think it is not a good idea to look for the highest resolution cameras. The rest of your setup has to be top notch before you see any benefit from 4k vs. fullhd.

First I would look into precise calibration panels and high quality optics for your camera. I think with a used logitech webcam for 20€ and a good c-mount lens for 50€, you will get better results than with a 4k ultra wideangle action cam like the Sony as50r.
If you want to improve, you still don't want to boost resolution but get a fullhd camera with less noise and maybe faster acquisition. After that, I would get a better projector with square pixels and fullhd.
And even then, I don't think, a 4k camera is worth it. With such high resolutions, the need for disk space and especially CPU power will explode to the point that even with the fastest pc, scanning will be cumbersome.

If you have the Canon, I would stick with it for now and give Magiclantern a try as Curiousjeff suggested. I think for the beginning, even the low resolution of liveview can give you great results. my first scans where not so much restricted by the camera but more by the calibration panels and my skills.

aimedsolutions
Posts: 10
Joined: 06 Feb 2017, 02:22

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by aimedsolutions » 02 Mar 2017, 04:11

Bundle of thanks guys
I am now going to stick with my Canon for right now. I will build new panels on CNC. My recent one is also precise. I checked its scanned data for angle and its shown only 0.2degree deviation. Anyhow, I will make new one soon.

momentif
Posts: 8
Joined: 29 Dec 2017, 02:20

Re: How to use Canon EOS camera with David

Post by momentif » 31 Mar 2020, 01:14

Sorry to bump an old thread.

Where can I find the Canon EDSDK.dll version 2.14.0.3 file online?

Cheers,

Post Reply