Some of my scans

What have you scanned recently?
User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 177
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Some of my scans

Post by OBNRacerMan » 24 May 2020, 08:35

Micr0 wrote:
23 May 2020, 15:32
Is that scanned with a coating spray, or uncoated?
No spray

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 177
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Some of my scans

Post by OBNRacerMan » 26 May 2020, 12:06

I once scanned this remote control from the projector, but then there were other cameras that, although they could capture fairly black objects, made it much worse than new ones (although it is not very easy for new ones). In addition, there were previously problems with the final mix.
An 80mm calibration chart was used and many, many scans (both in composite mode and (some individual views) in advanced)
remote-control_MV-D_02.jpg
The appearance of the remote control, as cameras saw it.
remote-control_MV-D_01.jpg
After finalization
P.S. I did not upload the finished STL file, because it turned out to be 250 MB in size

Y.A.B
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 May 2020, 02:09

Re: Some of my scans

Post by Y.A.B » 15 Jun 2020, 15:20

hi, those scans is amazingly good, but I have a question, as I read that scroll shutter cameras and I think that 6.3 mp one you use is a scroll shutter, I heard that it has a noticeable distortion comparing to global shutter , what you think according to your experience using this type of cameras?
thank you

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 177
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Some of my scans

Post by OBNRacerMan » 15 Jun 2020, 18:07

Unfortunately, I do not have practical experience in using cameras with a global shutter ... More precisely, I have one camera with a global shutter 0.9MP 120fps USB2.0 - and it turned out to be completely unsuitable for scanning - because for the strongest compression of MJPG and USB2.0 interface.

But personally, I think that for the SLS scan, the type of shutter of the camera does not really matter, because at the moment of "shooting" the object is stationary.

But in "real-time" scanners like Artec Spider or Calibry (where scanning is done from different sides, by continuously moving the scanner around the object) - the use of cameras with a global shutter can be important.

P.S. It is also worth considering that using the global shutter dramatically increases the cost of the camera.

I also post updated fresh scans:
magnet_konigsberg_04.jpg
Fridge magnet
2020.06.09_electrical outlet.jpg
Electrical outlet cover
2020.05.30_camera_safety_cap.jpg
A protective cover from one of my cameras

Y.A.B
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 May 2020, 02:09

Re: Some of my scans

Post by Y.A.B » 16 Jun 2020, 03:43

wonderful results 🤔, and thank you so much for the info's ..

User avatar
Micr0
Posts: 427
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 15:20

Re: Some of my scans

Post by Micr0 » 16 Jun 2020, 14:03

OBNRacerMan wrote:
15 Jun 2020, 18:07
Unfortunately, I do not have practical experience in using cameras with a global shutter ... More precisely, I have one camera with a global shutter 0.9MP 120fps USB2.0 - and it turned out to be completely unsuitable for scanning - because for the strongest compression of MJPG and USB2.0 interface.

But personally, I think that for the SLS scan, the type of shutter of the camera does not really matter, because at the moment of "shooting" the object is stationary.

But in "real-time" scanners like Artec Spider or Calibry (where scanning is done from different sides, by continuously moving the scanner around the object) - the use of cameras with a global shutter can be important.

P.S. It is also worth considering that using the global shutter dramatically increases the cost of the camera.

I also post updated fresh scans:
magnet_konigsberg_04.jpg2020.06.09_electrical outlet.jpg2020.05.30_camera_safety_cap.jpg
Excellent! You really have your system dialed in well.
µ

kth307000
Posts: 19
Joined: 17 Jul 2020, 15:35

Re: Some of my scans

Post by kth307000 » 17 Jul 2020, 15:42

OBNRacerMan wrote:
14 Aug 2019, 14:35
Micr0 wrote:
14 Aug 2019, 14:24
Do you coat any of the objects you are scanning?
No, the scan was done "as is". I don’t have anything suitable for matting yet (and using ordinary chalk or other powdered products will require thorough cleaning after scanning - which I don’t want to do :-))
Here, for example, the coin looked like when scanning:
10rub_Mtest_05.jpg
I'm curious how you set it up.
I can't align properly due to distortion after scanning for any problems during the calibration process.

And if you connect two external cameras in david 5 version, will it be recognized?
Two cameras are recognized in the picture, and if it is recognized automatically, I would like to try.

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 177
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Some of my scans

Post by OBNRacerMan » 17 Jul 2020, 18:14

kth307000 wrote:
17 Jul 2020, 15:42
I'm curious how you set it up.
I can't align properly due to distortion after scanning for any problems during the calibration process.
For scanning very small objects, I usually try to use my smallest calibration table - 30mm. But lately it has become quite good after calibration according to the 50mm table (it is easier to tune in here).
You can also try putting the calibration panel on its side - this greatly simplifies the calibration process, but the model will be rotated 90° in the program (which will require you to rotate everything after scanning to a convenient position for perception).
20190724171116s.jpg
This is also a great calibration.
20190724171215s.jpg
This is also a great calibration.
kth307000 wrote:
17 Jul 2020, 15:42
And if you connect two external cameras in david 5 version, will it be recognized?
Two cameras are recognized in the picture, and if it is recognized automatically, I would like to try.
I use HP3Dscan 5.60 (this is the same David5, after their purchase by HP). Version 5 initially provides support for two cameras (and this is one of the main differences from previous versions).
As for the moment how the program sees two cameras, it depends, first of all, on the cameras used.
For example, my old YW500U3M (working through the standard Windows driver - UVC) was simply defined by the program as two separate cameras (despite the same names they have).
The new cameras required a name change (this function is present in the drivers of these cameras - I named them SUA630ML and SUA630MR ("left" and "right" for better readability)). After that, both of them became available for use in the HP3Dscan program.

Unfortunately, some cameras (for example RisingCam / ToupCam) do not have the ability to change the name inside the firmware - and then two cameras cannot be made to work in this program.

I will also add a few fresh scans, taken just like that, for "training" and to help in my work.
2020.07.03_stayer_knife_01.jpg
Scan of the handle of a conventional segment knife - 1
2020.07.03_stayer_knife_03.jpg
Scan of the handle of a conventional segment knife - 2
2020-07-10_10-08-44.jpg
Creating a "replica" according to the existing sample - 1
2020-07-10_10-08-45.jpg
Creating a "replica" according to the existing sample - 2
2020.07.10_R_Z_comlpect_00.jpg
Silver ring scan
2020.07.10_R_Z_comlpect_01.jpg
Silver ring to be made of gold

kth307000
Posts: 19
Joined: 17 Jul 2020, 15:35

Re: Some of my scans

Post by kth307000 » 18 Jul 2020, 11:09

Thank you for the good information and valuable answers.
It helps a lot in studying scans.

I will post any good results after testing.
Have a nice day
Thank you.

kth307000
Posts: 19
Joined: 17 Jul 2020, 15:35

Re: Some of my scans

Post by kth307000 » 18 Jul 2020, 12:05

OBNRacerMan wrote:
13 Dec 2019, 13:34
mading wrote:
13 Dec 2019, 13:25
For riducing the artefacts due to the diamond pixels?
No, this is not necessary - this projector has "square" pixels (not "rhombuses"). It’s just that the cameras are higher than the projector, that's why we get such a picture (although with the ball mounts shown in the photo, they can be set so that the lines show more evenly). In the new version, the vertical angle of rotation of the cameras is fixed (they can be set closer to each other, or further and also tilted relative to the horizontal axis).
20190903201253s.jpg



Is YW500U3 a camera that needs a separate board?
The camera I am currently using is the scorpion scor-13FFM.
This camera has a separate board and a driver called Fly capture.

YW500U3 If this product does not require a special board and only install the driver, I would like to try it.

At least it seems better than the camera I'm using now.

The final thing I want to do is drive a turntable with a dual camera.
I want to do it like OBNRacerMan.

I want to do that too, but I would appreciate your help.
Thank you.

Post Reply