Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Something doesn't work and you don't know why? Ask here!
Post Reply
letstry001
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2020, 09:06

Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by letstry001 » 27 Jan 2020, 09:10

Good morning,
I have a David scan SLS-3 with one "david-cam-4-m" camera... Now I would like to buy the second one camera...but:

1) Is it possible to use other types of camera like flir cameras...using David 5 software?
2) Where could i find a camera (david-cam-4-m) kit (also used)?

Thank you

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 146
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by OBNRacerMan » 27 Jan 2020, 09:37

letstry001 wrote:
27 Jan 2020, 09:10
Is it possible to use other types of camera
David / HP3Dscan software allows you to use almost any two cameras - I personally tried the following pairs:
- 1.3Mp Logitech HD C270 and 3.1Mp Toupcam UCMOS03100KPA
- 5.1Mp YW500U3 and 3.1Mp Toupcam UCMOS03100KPA
- 5.1Mp YW500U3 and monochrome 120fps 0.9Mp USB GS Camera
and some more options.

It should be noted that due to the different sizes of the matrices and lenses, it is necessary to select an individual distance from the camera to the scanning object so that the image capture zone turns out to be more or less the same.

There may also be a problem of synchronization and camera control (my current SUA630M allows only resolution and gain from the program interface, and shutter speed and other parameters are available only from the separately opened camera properties window)

letstry001
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2020, 09:06

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by letstry001 » 27 Jan 2020, 10:00

Hi, on my David scanner i have a single 4Mp camera on it i read "David-cam-4-m"...(searching on line i see it is a 4 mega pixel camera 54 pfs)
PS: If i use a different camera (es: flir 20mp camera) the david 5 software do not show it...

Could yo sugges me a solution to find a David-cam-4-m camera of the way to use other cameras?

Thank you

letstry001
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2020, 09:06

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by letstry001 » 27 Jan 2020, 10:07

See here some camera details : https://www.cnc-step.com/3d-scanner-david-sls/

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 146
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by OBNRacerMan » 27 Jan 2020, 10:40

letstry001 wrote:
27 Jan 2020, 10:00
i see it is a 4 mega pixel camera 54 pfs)
PS: If i use a different camera (es: flir 20mp camera) the david 5 software do not show it...
Unfortunately, I did not have a 20 megapixel camera ... of my cameras, only MindVision SUA630M has a maximum resolution of 6.3Mp / 60fps (59.7fps shows in the program)

P.S. It is possible that cameras with such a high (20MP) resolution are simply not used for scanning - because they will have to transmit an extremely large (compared to 2-5MP cameras) amount of information without signal compression ...

P.P.S. Unfortunately, I don’t know where to find the full analogue of David-cam-4-m (2.3Mp HP Camera like this is not at all interesting because of the price)
For example - here are 4Mp Basler cameras

Also, I do not know - your original camera is color or monochrome.

letstry001
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2020, 09:06

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by letstry001 » 27 Jan 2020, 12:18

Hi,
my "david-cam-4-m" camera is a 4Mp 54pfs color camera, more or less 1100€, for this reason i would like to substitute it with less expensive, 2 cameras of different type.

Do you use Davids 5 software? If so, how can i select a different camera from this software?
When i try try to select a different cameras an left menu, the software lists only 1 model...how do you have solved?

Thank you

letstry001
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2020, 09:06

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by letstry001 » 27 Jan 2020, 13:00

Last thing to notice: On camera Camera Setup of David 5 Scan software i see only one camera available at the moment (DAVID-CAM-4-M)...my fear is that connecting a "non david camera" the software may refuse to list it on setup menu...

User avatar
Micr0
Posts: 413
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 15:20

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by Micr0 » 27 Jan 2020, 13:05

letstry001 wrote:
27 Jan 2020, 12:18
Hi,
my "david-cam-4-m" camera is a 4Mp 54pfs color camera, more or less 1100€, for this reason i would like to substitute it with less expensive, 2 cameras of different type.

Do you use Davids 5 software? If so, how can i select a different camera from this software?
When i try try to select a different cameras an left menu, the software lists only 1 model...how do you have solved?

Thank you
Do you have the new camera plugged in and can you you see it as being connected in the device manager? Some cameras don't work well with David (Point Grey?) but many that do. If the camera is not plugged in then you wont see it in the cameras selection menu of David.
µ

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 146
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by OBNRacerMan » 27 Jan 2020, 13:17

letstry001 wrote:
27 Jan 2020, 12:18
Do you use Davids 5 software? If so, how can i select a different camera from this software?
When i try try to select a different cameras an left menu, the software lists only 1 model...how do you have solved?
Since I do not have original cameras and a projector, I selected "Custom Structured Light Setup" - in this case, all the cameras connected to the computer are visible in the program (but only two of them can be selected for work). On the attached photo you can see that at that moment there were 4 cameras available.

I tested cameras of different price ranges (including the primitive HD web-cam, cheap industrial cameras (~ 80-100USD per camera) and, as a result, settled on the expensive (370-400USD per camera) industrial monochrome SUA630M (1/1.8" SONY IMX178)) - except for web-camera they are all quite suitable for scanning. But their speed (with the exception of the most expensive) is quite low - 25fps at full resolution of 5.1MP and 60fps if you switch to 1920 * 1080 (an expensive camera provides 60 / 120fps in similar modes)
There are cameras with high sensitivity (1/1.2" matrix SONY IMX174 is used), a resolution of 2.3Mp (not so "straining" computer hardware) even more suitable (in my opinion) for use as part of a 3D scanner - but their price (800-1000USD per camera) turned out to be too big for me .. . :(

Here is the link where I bought my camera (so far only one - I will buy the second later).
Attachments
20190903201351s.jpg
sample screen

letstry001
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2020, 09:06

Re: Info about David Scan camera (david-cam-4-m)

Post by letstry001 » 27 Jan 2020, 14:33

Thanks to this reply you save a lot of work and money...
Now i try to follow your suggest !

See you soon and thank you!!

Post Reply