ComXim (USB) turntables & HP 3D Scan

Discuss about cameras, projectors, calibration panels, turntables etc.
VancoD

ComXim (USB) turntables & HP 3D Scan

Post by VancoD »

Hello all -

I'm new to the forum and new to 3D scanning. In fact, I have yet to make my first "real" scan as I'm still learning the process.....

I was fortunate enough to come into an HP 3D Scan Pro setup and need to find a working turntable. I found (and purchased) a ComXim model that supports a USB connection. While clunky, I can manually advance the table and take my scans. But what I'd really like to do is to automate this process.

Has anyone made these 2 work together? I did a search or the forum and didn't see anything cogent.

TIA
Micr0

Re: ComXim (USB) turntables & HP 3D Scan

Post by Micr0 »

VancoD wrote: 30 Oct 2021, 13:31 Hello all -

I'm new to the forum and new to 3D scanning. In fact, I have yet to make my first "real" scan as I'm still learning the process.....

I was fortunate enough to come into an HP 3D Scan Pro setup and need to find a working turntable. I found (and purchased) a ComXim model that supports a USB connection. While clunky, I can manually advance the table and take my scans. But what I'd really like to do is to automate this process.

Has anyone made these 2 work together? I did a search or the forum and didn't see anything cogent.

TIA

what version of the HP (David) software do you have?
µ
VancoD

Post by VancoD »

It's the latest release from HP (I believe they still call it David 5 - sp77433) - but they have the v4 release available as well if required.

I naively hoped the software would just see a USB turntable and work, but clearly there's more to this than just some sort of standard COMM connection.
Micr0

Post by Micr0 »

VancoD wrote: 01 Nov 2021, 16:09 It's the latest release from HP (I believe they still call it David 5 - sp77433) - but they have the v4 release available as well if required.