Kreon laser Scanner

If your topic doesn't fit into any of the categories above, just put it here.
Post Reply
Aal
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2019, 13:57

Kreon laser Scanner

Post by Aal » 25 Apr 2019, 06:11

I am a beginner with 3d scanning and i recently scanned a simple flange using a kreon 7-axes arm with blue laser. However the resuting geometry of scan data (as shown in attachment) is not very accurate. I have seen people getting very good results with 3d scanning, while mine is clearly not. Is this due to a problem with my hardware or my software settings?
2.jpg

User avatar
Micr0
Posts: 322
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 15:20

Re: Kreon laser Scanner

Post by Micr0 » 25 Apr 2019, 18:03

Aal wrote:
25 Apr 2019, 06:11
I am a beginner with 3d scanning and i recently scanned a simple flange using a kreon 7-axes arm with blue laser. However the resuting geometry of scan data (as shown in attachment) is not very accurate. I have seen people getting very good results with 3d scanning, while mine is clearly not. Is this due to a problem with my hardware or my software settings?

2.jpg
When you say "not accurate" do you mean geometrical not accurate or are you referring to the poor quality of the scan (noise, distorted features, rough surfaces)? I don't know that system, but CMM arm based scanners are usually very precise. the Blue laser should give good detail too. To you have the manuals? have you checked your setup and scanning procedure? can you not call tech support?
µ

Aal
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2019, 13:57

Re: Kreon laser Scanner

Post by Aal » 30 Apr 2019, 09:21

Prevoiusly When i scanned over the same area multiple times. it usually ended up with different scan points as you can see in the attached picture which is not a regular circle. and yes i am missing the manuals since we lost them. The reason why i posted was that i wanted to know if scanning results are intially supposed to be like this and then refined in modeling or be more accurate.

Tightening the screws at the base of the arm and better clapming of part has helped eliminate this problem now. The accuracy is in microns now.

Post Reply