3D capture stage (turntable) on David SW

Discuss about cameras, projectors, calibration panels, turntables etc.
Post Reply
Shefajs
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 May 2019, 13:27

3D capture stage (turntable) on David SW

Post by Shefajs » 07 May 2019, 14:42

Hello,

I get up using the Sprout G2 for 3D scanning (buggy USB3 controller and my hi-res cameras freezing). But I would like to use the turnatble for my hi-res setup.

Well, I thought it would be easy, but it is not or I do something wrong.

So I'm trying to install the 3D capture stage driver and David5/HP plugin for the turntable to work.

Driver itself do not get installed unless you copy the c:\system.sav\util\hpdc.exe which handles the installation. Then the driver showed up right.

But even when I copied all the setup and setting files from the Sprout HP 3D scan install folder, from logs I see that when I click connect turntable it is trying to load up the plugin for the TT1 and not the 3D capture stage.

So I decided to switch the names of the plugins so I made sure it's loading the right plugin.

Now in logs I can see the difference:
Error - 3dCaptureStage - Could not connect to turntable (bb0601882142020b)

The turntable still refuse to connect. Any ideas?

Did anyone attempted the same? I mean it's only logical to use the $300 tunrtable that has 2 rotation axis (only switchable) instead of the crappy TT1 that cost 1000Eur...


The turntable might be dependent on the sprout service...then it would be complicated.

Any ideas are appreciated.

User avatar
Micr0
Posts: 328
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 15:20

Re: 3D capture stage (turntable) on David SW

Post by Micr0 » 08 May 2019, 19:13

Shefajs wrote:
07 May 2019, 14:42
Hello,

I get up using the Sprout G2 for 3D scanning (buggy USB3 controller and my hi-res cameras freezing). But I would like to use the turnatble for my hi-res setup.

Well, I thought it would be easy, but it is not or I do something wrong.

So I'm trying to install the 3D capture stage driver and David5/HP plugin for the turntable to work.

Driver itself do not get installed unless you copy the c:\system.sav\util\hpdc.exe which handles the installation. Then the driver showed up right.

But even when I copied all the setup and setting files from the Sprout HP 3D scan install folder, from logs I see that when I click connect turntable it is trying to load up the plugin for the TT1 and not the 3D capture stage.

So I decided to switch the names of the plugins so I made sure it's loading the right plugin.

Now in logs I can see the difference:
Error - 3dCaptureStage - Could not connect to turntable (bb0601882142020b)

The turntable still refuse to connect. Any ideas?

Did anyone attempted the same? I mean it's only logical to use the $300 tunrtable that has 2 rotation axis (only switchable) instead of the crappy TT1 that cost 1000Eur...


The turntable might be dependent on the sprout service...then it would be complicated.

Any ideas are appreciated.
If I read this correctly, as of V5 David won't work with any turntable but the TT!. Pissed many of us off.
µ

Shefajs
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 May 2019, 13:27

Re: 3D capture stage (turntable) on David SW

Post by Shefajs » 10 May 2019, 05:50

No, You are wrong. In David v 5.2 they added support for “3D capture stage” which is similar to TT-1 but has another rotational axis for tilt and cost significantly less (around $300).

This is not widely known because it is intended for HP Sprout computers!

It is just not that straightforward as on the normal install the “3d capture plugin” is not activated. And on the Sprout David install the TT-1 plugin is not activated.

Do someone remember how the David plugins were activate when there still was such an option?

Post Reply