HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Write here about construction, ideas, equipment, tips n tricks etc. related to structured light scanning
Post Reply
sarbirus
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by sarbirus » 08 Aug 2019, 22:28

So about 3 years ago I was getting into 3D printing and bought a HP Sprout Pro (the second generation Sprout, not the Pro-G2) along with a HP 3D scanning capture stage. (Yeah, an impulsive buy, costing thousands and should have done my homework!)

I ignorantly thought it would be the ideal tool for scanning in objects, to reverse engineer other objects to interface with using CAD software like Fusion360 etc.

Unfortunately, as some of you will know, the standard sprout 3D scanning software is a bit of a toy, rather than a tool.

So anyway, for the last three years, I have been using the Sprout just as a a dedicated PC for cad and 3D printing, and I have kind of got attached to it.

Then a few days ago, I was looking into 3D scanners and noticed that the company David had been bought by HP and there was talk that David5.0 scanning software was adapted for the Sprout... So down the rabbit hole of the web I went, and here is what I think is the situation, but to be honest, it is as clear as mud, and hopefully, someone here with either a Silver Sprout (pre G2) or black Sprout Pro G2, in here might be able to clarify.

1 - I have downloaded the HP 3D Scan 5 software onto my Sprout, and it is working in unlicenced mode.

2 - In HP 3D Scan 5 - If I select "HP Sprout" as the setup, it comes back with an error complaining that the SoHal server is not running... I suspect this is probably something that is running in the background on the G2 machines. But, the projector fires up the scanning cross hash style image but nothing in the video space in the centre of the screen from my camera, as I get when I select "Custom Structured Light"... Which seems like everything will work if I were to continue with a calibration (apart from the software being a trial), has anyone got any insight into the SoHAL thing, and if it is possible to get this working on a Sprout Pro (pre G2)? Such as getting a SoHAL server up and running (whatever that is!)

3 - In HP 3D Scan 5 - If I select "Custom Structured light", then I can get it so that it all seems happy, video from the camera being shown in the centre of the screen, just need to calibrate and then it would seem I would be ready to get going. Is this right, or am I missing a next hurdle around the corner from anyone here's experience?

4 - From reading on the internet, some of which confirmed in the HP site, it seems that if I had a Sprout Pro G2, then I could browse the Sprout free software marketplace and download HP 3D Scan, licence free. Is anyone able to confirm this first hand?

5 - From again reading on the internet, and again it seems to be confirmed in parts of the HP site.. If I have a Sprout Pro G2, then it allows the use of the "HP 3D Capture stage", but if it is used in any other setup mode (such as a non sprout) then you have to use the TT1 expensive capture stage.. Anyone able to confirm this from experience?

I guess what all this boils down to is...

I have a couple of ways to go, but could be walking into another mistake.

One would be to buy the HP 3D Scan5 software, and might be able to use it without a capture stage or TT1, and then eventually buy a capture stage (TT1) and potentially find out I have wasted yet more money.

Another, would be to buy a Sprout Pro G2, in the hope that the HP3DScan5 software is still on the marketplace as a free download, and it really does work with the capture stage.. But again, that could be wasting a whole load of cash, the ap might no longer be on the marketplace for free, and it might not work with the capture stage.

What would be really awesome, is if there is some way of getting HP3DScan5 working on my Sprout Pro that I have, in "HP Sprout Mode", so the HP CaptureStage will work, then I really only need to invest in the software to know what kind of scans I will get without any future investment in a TT1 etc etc..

Has anyone here any experience with the HP3DScan5 software (or David5) on a sprout of any version?

If there is anyone here with a Sprout, can you see if HP3DScan5 is still on the app marketplace if you click on the "Discover" button?

It's a real shame the HP website is not a bit clearer on all of this, the pages you do find seem like the kind of pages uploaded sometime in the past, that could be obsolete rubbish, which make it a little difficult to make an informed purchase.

Anyway, I hope someone here can help..

User avatar
Micr0
Posts: 338
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 15:20

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by Micr0 » 09 Aug 2019, 13:17

Did you ask this in the HP forum?

https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/3D-Scanning/bd-p/3DScan

The HP reps there should be able to answer this I would think.
µ

sarbirus
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by sarbirus » 11 Aug 2019, 14:58

I have asked now.

But do think that getting it running on the G1 might be a bit hard core and off the standard path for them.

Was hoping someone here might have a G1 and have it working, or a G2 and be happy to answer some questions about the setup and install process, such as if they still have the install file or if sohal is a service running in the background and what it is, such as it being the G2 ap store background process or something like that.

sarbirus
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by sarbirus » 13 Aug 2019, 20:56

I put my support community post under HP Sprout and just noticed there is also a 3D Scanner section in the HP Support community (Hidden in the printer section of the community!)

I was thinking of cross posting my questions in there, but then noticed that only two posts out of thirty posts on the first page has a reply.

One was an employee answering someone asking what is the smallest item the scanner can scan, who answered with words to the effect, "On the technical specifications the maximum size is...." When the guy has clearly asked how small an object can it scan.

The other was someone saying their licence key did not work, and their reply was to email HP Support...

Those posts ranged from today through to back in March, and some of those people have bought the HP 3D Scan 5 software, and the HP SLS Scanners, or in other words, thousands of dollars of equipment and are only getting silence.

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 9
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by OBNRacerMan » 13 Aug 2019, 21:28

sarbirus wrote:
13 Aug 2019, 20:56
...and just noticed there is also a 3D Scanner section in the HP Support community (Hidden in the printer section of the community!)...
:D I registered there only yesterday, only because I saw a question that was not answered there, but I had my own solution to this problem. I don’t know if it helped the person who asked about the calibration of the dual-camera configuration at close range.

sarbirus
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by sarbirus » 13 Aug 2019, 22:30

As this machine seems to be a bit of an enigma, and having just called HP Support to ask them these questions and they really did not know what a sprout was, let alone HP3DScan5, I think us Sprout, HPCaptureStage, and HP3DScan5 users are left a little unsupported.

The machine is a bit of a niche market, so even in 3D Scanning forums like this, there is unlikely to be many people able to support others in my position.

Although I am finding this forum really interesting on the general subject of 3D Scanning, so will continue reading posts here, as well as hopefully contributing in time, but I have made a facebook group for the HPSprout, in the hope of fishing for users, who might be able to help one another.

I hope this does not break any rules, but the web address to the facebook group is..
https://www.facebook.com/groups/hpsprout/

Moderators, please do not take offence, and feel free to censor out the web address if you really can not allow this address to be mentioned in this forum.

sarbirus
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by sarbirus » 13 Aug 2019, 22:31

OBNRacerMan wrote:
13 Aug 2019, 21:28
sarbirus wrote:
13 Aug 2019, 20:56
...and just noticed there is also a 3D Scanner section in the HP Support community (Hidden in the printer section of the community!)...
:D I registered there only yesterday, only because I saw a question that was not answered there, but I had my own solution to this problem. I don’t know if it helped the person who asked about the calibration of the dual-camera configuration at close range.
It's a bit insane in there.

When you find the 3D Scanner section of the community, hidden under "Printers", I really could not believe the lack of answers from HP Staff, but also the incorrect information they provide, such as telling someone the maximum scan volume, when the question was clearly "how small an object can it scan!"

Absolutely priceless. :lol:

User avatar
OBNRacerMan
Posts: 9
Joined: 12 Aug 2019, 09:46
Location: Obninsk, Russia

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by OBNRacerMan » 14 Aug 2019, 05:15

sarbirus wrote:
13 Aug 2019, 22:31
... I really could not believe the lack of answers from HP Staff, but also the incorrect information they provide, such as telling someone the maximum scan volume, when the question was clearly "how small an object can it scan!"
Absolutely priceless. :lol:
I agree. Compared to the old David Laserscanner forum, HP has an extremely inconvenient forum (and one must be able to find it).

User avatar
Micr0
Posts: 338
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 15:20

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by Micr0 » 14 Aug 2019, 14:27

OBNRacerMan wrote:
14 Aug 2019, 05:15
sarbirus wrote:
13 Aug 2019, 22:31
... I really could not believe the lack of answers from HP Staff, but also the incorrect information they provide, such as telling someone the maximum scan volume, when the question was clearly "how small an object can it scan!"
Absolutely priceless. :lol:
I agree. Compared to the old David Laserscanner forum, HP has an extremely inconvenient forum (and one must be able to find it).
I haven't been there since last year. sad to hear that is is so useless. The original David forum was great.
µ

sarbirus
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

Re: HP Sprout - David5/HP3DScan5 users out there?

Post by sarbirus » 14 Aug 2019, 23:26

I think HP Potentially dropped a ball with the way they took over David.

I personally think they should have kept the David branding, with its team of boffins "Feel" to the brand, kept the old website with maybe a bit of modernisation, and run the David brand, or maybe just re-branded it as David a HP company, and kept the forum.

Instead, they bought a brand with a good and growing name, took the technology and diluted the brand down to nothing. Removing in the process the forum, which they could have used by monitoring it, to get insight into the users, potential users, trends and technology, while also providing a soft interface between the developers and the community.

But the way they bought the company, absorbed it, and have half heartedly entered the market, it almost seems like the engineers had a good idea, but the marketing and support departments have forgotten to do their job and follow through, which makes whatever they paid for David, a complete waste of money.

I think for the solution to my problem, I either need to pay for a £600 licence for HP3DScan5, and a TT1 turntable used for £500 or New for £1000 (as it will only recognise the CaptureStage if it recognises my SproutG1 as a SproutG2)... Which would be a spend of about £1100 to £1600.

Or find a HPSproutProG2 used, for around the £1600 mark.

But in either case, I am not 100% sure that the HPSproutG2 Ap store still has the HP3DScan5 software licence free for HPSproutG2 machines, and if in either setup the setup will reach my expectations.

HP Sales and support can't answer my questions about either of my options, and I can't find anyone using a Sprout or Sprout G2, to get their feedback to help me decide to buy anything from HP..

Which is a good example, how HP are missing out on potential sales on this equipment.

Sigh!

Post Reply